Posted by: Brian | May 6, 2010

Book Review: The Other 8 Hours

I recently read The Other 8 Hours by Robert Pagliarini. The book was a good read, though boring at some parts because the subject didn’t pertain to me. I thoroughly enjoyed the ideas presented in the book. In the beginning, Pagliarini sets up the stage by explaining, and showing with a worksheet, how much time we waste everyday doing nothing. The middle of the book talks about the specific actions a person needs to take to change their current situation. This was my favorite part of the book. The chapters were written in such a manner that I could just imagine myself finding a few more hours a day to work on my goals and dreams. Some nights when I was reading, I would put the book down to go work on my projects because I got so fired up from the book. The back third of the book is split into two parts.

The first part is all about possible side activities you could do to generate some income. They are not very in-depth or all-encompassing. The nice thing is that they just brush the subject matter and give you some tips and places to go for more information. Pagliarini writes about four or five activities that range from blogging to investing. The second part talks about getting started and keeping the fire going. This is very important due to the fact that most people start out with a white hot desire that quickly turns to a dull orange, and then to a faint glowing ember.

I would recommend this book as part of your personal finance library, but not a must have. The book provides good ideas and a new look on an old concept.

Leave a Reply

Categories

